Queens Farm’s 47-acre tract of farmland exemplifies the 300-year history of agriculture and farming as a way of life in New York City. The restored Adriance Farmhouse, the centerpiece of the farm complex, was first built as a three-room Dutch farmhouse in 1772. The farmhouse and surrounding 7-acre historic area mirror the evolution of this unique tract of land from a colonial homestead to a truck farm that served the needs of a growing city in the early twentieth century. The historic outbuildings, orchard, planting fields, vineyard, herb garden, and farmyard animals bring history to life.
In 1975, the founders of the museum obtained landmark designation for the structures and the surrounding land and worked diligently to open the site to the public. The important task of restoring the Adriance Farmhouse was completed in 1986. In addition, a master plan was prepared in 1986 to chart the course for future restoration and development of the site. An interpretive planning study, funded by the New York State Council on the Arts, was conducted in 1988. Both these initiatives were carried forward, using a team approach, with qualified outside professionals working closely with the farm’s staff and Board of Directors. To prepare for further expansion of the farm’s agricultural and educational programs, Quennell Rothchild & Partners were commissioned to develop a new master plan for the museum in 2009.
Queens County Farm Museum offers audiences a glimpse of how farm products travel from field to fork. Other important elements of the farm’s interpretation include the barns and outbuildings, livestock, orchard, apiary, herb garden and greenhouse complex.